Yavapai County Board of Supervisors Congratulate the 2015 Golden Plate Awards Recipients

With over 200 of the more than 800 Yavapai County restaurants and food handling facilities winning a Golden Plate Award this year, you might think it can’t be that difficult to win.  The truth is achieving all three of the required criteria takes hard work, planning and a commitment to professional service from everyone — managers to dishwashers.


“Over ten years ago we were asked by a local news organization for a list of all the restaurants that had critical violations during a restaurant inspection,” said Supervisor Chip Davis.  He went on to say, “What we gave them was just the opposite. We came up with the Golden Plate Awards, a list of the very best restaurants in the area who had no critical violations.”


Here are the three criteria that must be met to receive a Golden Plate Award:

1)  Operate throughout the entire calendar year without a cited critical food handling violation.

2)  Have an approved and implemented food safety plan.

3)  Have a person-in-charge with an accepted and current manager-level food safety certificate through-out the year.


Tim Lacey, Manager of the Prescott Cracker Barrel Old Country Store, after winning the award for a second year in a row said “It’s an incredible honor to win this award. It’s important to our community for all restaurants to serve safe food and takes a steadfast commitment to operational excellence.  As a member of the Food Safety Industry Council (FSIC), it’s wonderful to see so many restaurants awarded alongside of Cracker Barrel.”


The full list of 2015 winners can be found Here along with the results from every restaurant inspection.

The awards for the Prescott area were distributed on 3/2/16 at the Board of Supervisors meeting in Prescott.  The Verde Valley awards will be given out on 3/16/16 at the Board of Supervisors meeting held in Cottonwood.


2015 Golden Plate Award recipients

Yavapai County Board of Supervisors Congratulate the 2015 Golden Plate Awards Recipients

From left to right: John Scholl, Chino Valley School District Superintendent, Stephen Tullos, Yavapai County Community Health Services Director, Chip Davis, Yavapai County District 3 Supervisor, Craig Brown, Yavapai County District 4 Supervisor, Rowle P. Simmons, Yavapai County District 1 Supervisor, Thomas Thurman, Yavapai County District 2 Supervisor – Vice Chairman, and Jack R. Smith, Yavapai County District 5 Supervisor – Chairman.


2015 GoldenPlate-Awards Final.pdf


For more information about this event or any of the Yavapai County Community Health Services, please contact David McAtee at 928-442-5509 or email [email protected].